School Logo

Stoborough CE VA Primary School

Love for ourselves, for each other and for the world

click ceop opens in new window

Get in touch

Meet the Governors

The Governing Body have an important and active role at Stoborough Primary School. We aim to ensure all children benefit from the best educational start; supporting and challenging the Headteacher to gain at least good outcomes for all pupils.

We actively monitor progress and attainment, in various aspects of the school and ensure the school budget is sent wisely.

It is a privilege to serve the school and its community.


Stoborough School Governors

Chair of the Governing Body ~ Giles Wade
Vice Chair of the Governing Body ~ Claire Hollard
Foundation Governor ~ Giles Wade
Foundation Governor ~ Debs Barclay
Foundation Governor ~ Alison Oakes
Foundation Governor ~ Position Vacant

Foundation Governor ~ Position Vacant
Foundation Governor ~ Christopher Hill
Authority Governor ~ Linda Northover
Parent Governor ~ Claire Hollard
Parent Governor ~ Jim Cole
Staff Governor ~ Beccy Spicer
Ex-Officio Governor ~ Canon Simon Everett
Headteacher ~ Jemma Murray



Authority Governors
Linda Northover ~ Authority Governor
I moved to Ridge from Berkshire in 2004 and am now enjoying an active retirement. For 17 yeas I was Headteacher of a primary school in Sandhurst, Berkshire. As my school also had a nursery class I have experience of the education system for children between 3 and 11 years. Between 2007 and 2009 I was involved in opening Children's Centres across Poole, working closely with the Health, Education and Social Services. I have two children and three young grandchildren, who love coming to stay with granny to enjoy all that the Isle of Purbeck offers.

Clerk to the Governors
Michelle Harrington ~ Clerk to the Governors

Foundation Governors
Debs Barclay ~ Foundation Governor

Giles Wade ~ Foundation Governor
My wife and I moved to Wareham in 2008, after a few years in Poole; having both grown up on Mersea Island in Essex. I went away to sea as an apprentice deck officer after leaving school, and spent 11 years trading to all corners of the globe on cargo ships. Having obtained my Master’s certificate, I subsequently took a job with Condor Ferries in Poole, which prompted the move to Dorset.

I currently serve as Master of the high speed passenger and vehicle ferry from Poole to the Channel Islands and St. Malo. This allows me to continue the career I love, whilst also enjoying daily family life – something denied to most seafarers.

 We have two girls at Stoborough School, and I am delighted to be appointed as a Foundation Governor, a position which will allow me to contribute and assist with this wonderful school.

Alison Oakes ~ Foundation Governor

~ Foundation Governor

Christopher Hill ~ Foundation Governor


Parent Governors
Claire Hollard ~ Parent Governor
I have lived in Furzebrook for eleven years, after being born and living my early life in Wimborne. I lived in Southampton for many years whilst at University and afterwards, and after taking some time out to travel the world settled in Purbeck.
I have two boys at Stoborough School, who are enjoying their time here hugely. I work locally, managing Corfe Castle Pre-School, which enables me to drop off and collect my children most days.
I wanted to stand as Parent Governor to take an active role in supporting the school and to ensure that Parents have a voice in the running of the school, and was delighted to be appointed.

Jim Cole ~ Parent Governor


Staff Governors

Beccy Spicer ~ Staff Governor
I thoroughly enjoy teaching at Stoborough Primary, although it is not my first experience of this fantastic school as I was previously a pupil here a few decades ago! Teaching Early Years is a passion of mine and subsequently the majority of my teaching career has been teaching and leading the Foundation Stage. Being able to be part of a child’s journey through their first year of school is a real joy and privilege. When I am not teaching or thinking about teaching I love spending time with my family. My husband and I have two wonderful children and two beautiful Hungarian Vizslas, Bella and Martha. I enjoy running and try to run three times per week. Two years ago I achieved a life-long ambition and I ran the London Marathon. Apart from shopping (I would love to shop in New York one day) one of my other passions is baking, although I am nowhere near the standard of the contestants on the Great British Bake Off I enjoy making cakes and particularly relish making birthday cakes for my friends and family in a variety of different themes and shapes!